The Ethics and Grievance Committee is a standing committee charged with promoting professional conduct and responsibility among the legal profession in American Samoa.  As part of the duties, the Committee assists the High Court in enforcing the disciplinary rules and handling grievances.  The disciplinary system of American Samoa is overseen by the High Court of American Samoa.

The American Samoa rules of professional responsibility are outlined in the HIGH COURT RULES.  HCR 104 states that attorneys are guided by the American Bar Association Model Rules of Professional Conduct. HCR 103 states that judges are guided by the Canons of Judicial Ethics. Judicial ethics are also described in the Model Code of Judicial Conduct.

Attorneys may utilize the ABA’s ETHICSearch service by calling 1-800-285-2221 (option 8) or by This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. . The ETHICSearch provides free consultation and initial research.

If you believe there has been an ethics violation by an individual licensed to practice law in American Samoa, please complete our Ethics Grievance Form and mail the form to:

American Samoa Bar Association

Ethics and Grievance Committee
P.O. Box 23
Pago Pago, American Samoa 96799



The Law Reform Committee is a standing committee dedicated to improving the quality of the laws and the administration of justice in American Samoa. This includes reviewing the current laws, regulations, and rules, as well as drafting new rules.


The Law Reform Committee updated Titles 13 and 46 of the American Samoa Code Annotated. These updates were adopted by the Bar in 2009. The changes affect the criminal statutes of the Territory. The revised Titles can be read below in pdf format.

Standing Committees


Continuing Legal Education   

Blake Hanley

Camille Pillipe

Leslie Cardin 


Ethics and Grievances Committee      

Nathan Mease

Doug Fiaui

Joe Everett

Jennifer Joneson

Law Reform Committee

Sean Morrison

Moi Masaniai

Aaron Masser

Camille Philipe

Cecilia Reyna


Doug Fiaui (webmaster)

Jennifer Joneson (scholarship)

Special Committees 



Roy Hall



Sean Morrison

Doug Fiaui 



Sean Morrison

Blake Hanley 

Terrie Bulinger

Mock Trial Committee

Matailupevao Leupolu, Jr.

Sean Morrison

Camille Philipe 

Leslie Cardin

Donna Clement


Legal Aid Board

Terrie Bulinger

Mitzie Folau

Falefatu Alailima-Utu

ASR Committee

Sharron Rancourt

Anne Wellborn

Noah Webster

Sara Sayles